Nintendo Online paid service starts next week, Nintendo Direct tomorrow

Nintendo is rolling out its Switch Online service next week

Nintendo is rolling out its Switch Online service next week

The release date for the much-anticipated service was revealed on Wednesday, when Nintendo also said its delayed Direct will be streamed on Thursday at 3 p.m. PT (6 p.m. ET/11 p.m. GMT/9:00 a.m. Friday AEST). For those of you who don't have a calendar handy, that's next Tuesday, so we're less than a week out from Switch Online's official launch. All users will receive a seven day free trial. Originally set to launch in 2017, Nintendo ended up having to delay the service multiple times before eventually landing on the second half of September.

The much anticipated online gaming service for the popular Nintendo Switch has a start date: September 18.

We still aren't going to be getting a Virtual Console, though the company will be adding 20 NES games to the console, along with the option to play them in co-op.


The Nintendo Switch Online service will let subscribers play online multiplayer games such as Mario Kart 8 Deluxe and Splatoon 2 online. These will include Super Mario Bros, Ice Climbers, and the original Legend of Zelda.

The service will cost $3.99/€3.99 for one month, $7.99/€7.99 for three months, and $19.99/€19.99 for a full year.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.