Kohli & co look to give stiff challenge to England

India Begin England Tour With A Fine Win In T20I Series

India Begin England Tour With A Fine Win In T20I Series

The Men-in-Blue and the English team have faced each other in an ODI series in India previous year when the hosts were victorious by 2-1.

K.L. Rahul's stupendous form has been a happy headache for the team management and there is a possibility that the captain might come in at No. 4 in order to give Rahul a chance to make full use of his current form.

England's batting strength with powerful ball strikers such as Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan and Ben Stokes in the mix will present a formidable challenge to the Indian attack.

In this regard, Rohit Sharma said: "Speaking about Rahul batting at No. 3 or No. 4, I don't know where he'll bat in ODIs". It would be interesting to see him rearing to go when he gets his turn. In the recently concluded three-match T20I series, India's spin-twins Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav showed the audience what they are capable off.

In his column for the Times of India, former Indian batsman VVS Laxman wrote, "Team India came through another test of character with flying colours by clinching the T20 series against England with a convincing win in the decider".

Yet, so determined was Root not to miss out on the short-form game and all the rewards that come with it, he convinced management he still had a role to play even though England have an embarrassment of big-hitting riches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - who is nursing a back problem - is not a certain starter for this game which will leave Umesh Yadav with the job of leading the pace attack. Opener Buttler has continued his dream run since the start of IPL. Along with Roy, the duo will like to take advantage of the Powerplay overs. Since 2016, the English batsmen have raked up most number of runs when it comes to the 50-over format - 14,297 (1,533 runs more than the second highest team).

Nepal will debut in ODIs when they play two matches against the Netherlands on August 1 and 3 while the Netherlands will be turning out in ODIs for the first time since losing ODI status in 2014 at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in New Zealand.

On 11 occasions, they have crossed 350 and have surpassed the 400-mark thrice.

India: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shreyas Iyer, Siddarth Kaul, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Match starts at 5 p.m. IST.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.