Women's T20 Challenge: BCCI announces Trailblazers and Supernovas teams

Women's IPL

Women's IPL

The one-of-its-kind match will feature 26 players including 10 global stars from Australia, England and New Zealand.

In a previous announcement on Tuesday (May 15), the BCCI announced that Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur will captain the two sides, named IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas respectively.

There is great news for Indian women cricketers.

The Supernovas boasts of a formidable line-up with Harmanpreet, India Women's T20 captain, leading the batting alongside Devine, Wyatt, Perry and an Indian contingent of Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy and Mona Meshram. We were in talks with several Boards and I am pleased with the outcome. The BCCI had said that the women's game has seen a wave of popularity in the country following the national team's run to the final of the World Cup past year. The global stars in the camp include Australia's Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney along with New Zealand all-rounder Suzie Bates.

Harmanpreet Kaur to lead Supernnovas
Source Getty Images

India aim to launch a women's edition of the IPL in the next three years, a top BCCI official said.

The IPL is the biggest and most popular league in the world and it has been a long-time endeavour to have a women's league that can match the exuberance of IPL.

The Supernovas, on the other hand, will be led by the hard-hitting Kaur while other Indians include Mithali Raj and Veda Krishnamurthy. The match will be played before the first Qualifier match on May 22 at 2 pm in Mumbai.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.