We failed to understand the impact of SP-BSP deal: Yogi

Gorakhpur counting centre

Gorakhpur counting centre

Yogi Adityanath, who represented the Gorakhpur seat in the Lok Sabha five times, winning the last elections in 2014 with a margin of 3.13 lakh votes, resigned from the seat after he became chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.

The Samajwadi Party today strengthened its grip over Uttar Pradesh's Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats with latest trends showing its candidates establishing sizeable leads over their nearest BJP rivals, indicating a stunning reversal for the state's ruling party.

Taking cue from him, former UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav said, " if this is the anger of people in areas of and CM (YogiAdityanath) deputy CM (Keshav Parasad Maurya), you can imagine the anger of the people of the rest of the country". "I congratulate the victorious candidates from Gorakhpur and Phulpur", he said.

The RJD's Sarfaraz Alam defeated the BJP candidate Pradeep Kumar Singh by over 60,000 votes in Araria.

In a major setback to the BJP, the saffron party lost Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats for which elections were held on March 11.

"Reflecting on the by-poll verdict, Chief Minister Yogi Aditya Nath said", We accept the verdict of the people, this result is unexpected, we will review the shortcomings.

Opposition leaders on Wednesday advocated, with renewed vigour, for a grand alliance to defeat the BJP in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections after it was crushed in the by-polls to three Lok Sabha seats, especially in Uttar Pradesh where an alliance of arch rivals SP and BSP sealed the BJPs fate. Leaders of 20 opposition parties, including the SP and BSP, had congregated at UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi's residence yesterday to explore such a possibility. BJP had won Phulpur for the first time. The BJP also put in a middling performance in Bihar, where it won one seat and saw its alliance lose two.

The BJP had wrested Phulpur Lok Sabha seat only in 2014. The victory in the Bhabua Assembly seat is poor consolation for the JD (U)-BJP combine in the state.

While the pooling of SP and BSP votes and, perhaps, higher-than-normal consolidation of Muslims played a decisive role, BJP's own vote share in the two seats slid sharply from 2014, something which should worry BJP chief Amit Shah, who needs to retain the Hindi heartland. "We will analyse and work on the places where we lacked and will work harder and perform better in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections".

Gorakhpuir has been a citadel of sorts for the BJP as Yogi Adityanath represented this seat for five terms before becoming the state's chief minister a year ago, necessitating a bypoll.

Sharad Yadav said even "a partial unity" among opposition parties was enough to defeat the BJP. Even if the BJP's defeat is not the direct result of this omission, it is bound to tighten Modi's grip over the party.

Jha is hopeful that the "we can" attitude of this alliance of regional parties can repeat what Ram Manohar Lohia, along with other leaders, did in 1963, by generating a united Opposition to counter then Congress government at Centre.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.