BJP Rajya Sabha candidate grew 2 years older in 4 months

The Congress nominated party leaders L Hanumanthaiah Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrasekhar from Karnataka for the March 23 Rajya Sabha elections

The Congress nominated party leaders L Hanumanthaiah Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrasekhar from Karnataka for the March 23 Rajya Sabha elections

Valera has chose to contest as an independent for the elections due on March 23. Mansukh Mandavia, minister of state for road transport and highways, and shipping, chemicals and fertilizers; and Parshottam Rupala, minister of state for panchayati raj, agriculture and farmers welfare filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha on Monday. The ruling party is hoping that by engineering defection in ranks of Congress and NCP and getting extra votes from Shiv Sena its fourth candidate will sail through. The Congress also chose to back Independent candidate PK Valera.

The JD (S)' request to the Congress to support its candidate has not yielded positive results with the former pressing for three MPs to be nominated to negate the seat loss from Uttar Pradesh.

In August previous year, senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel struggled but managed to retain his Rajya Sabha seat against the backdrop of resignation and cross-voting by some Congress MLAs. With a larger party now backing him, Rajeev Chandrasekhar plans to fulfil Prime Minister Narendra Modi's vision in Karnataka.

The BJP has fielded an additional Rajya Sabha candidate in Maharashtra, signalling what the Congress fears are potential problems for its nominee Kumar Ketkar who should otherwise have been elected unopposed.

The first was that he was NDA convener for the Kerala unit and the party was eyeing that state next after its victory in the north east states.

In Uttar Pradesh, Ashok Bajpai, one of the founding members of the Samajwadi Party who left to join the BJP a year ago, has been fielded as a candidate. In fact, it will only be a surprise if the party's candidates are to lose.

Yesterday Ashok Bajpayi, Anil Jain, Kanta Kardam, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Harnath Singh Yadav, Sakaldeep Rajbhar and G V L Narasimha Rao have filed the nominations.

From Jharkhand, the party has chosen Sameer Uranv, who is said to be close to CM Raghubar Das.

Gandhinagar: After the Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat last August that turned into a prestige battle between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress, another fight is on the cards for the upper house elections scheduled for 23 March. Both leaders belong to the Bundelkhand region, which could be significant in the assembly polls later this year.

In the 224-member assembly, each candidate will require 44 votes to win a Rajya Sabha seat.

The JD (U) has chose to repeat its two candidates - tycoon Mahendra Prasad, popularly known as "King Mahendra", who is up for his eighth term, and Vashishtha Narayan Singh.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.