BJP Leads in Araria & Bhabhua

Gorakhpur Pjulpur Araria Bhabua Jehanabad bypoll results on Wednesday key test for BJP JDU opposition

Gorakhpur Pjulpur Araria Bhabua Jehanabad bypoll results on Wednesday key test for BJP JDU opposition

Besides Jehanabad, bypolls were also held in Araria Lok Sabha and Bhabhua Assembly seats in Bihar. Here, BJP's Rinki Pandey is ahead of Congress' Shambhu Singh Patel.

Jehangabad SS College has been selected as the counting centre for the counting of votes for the assembly. Alam, who crossed over from JD (U) to Lalu Prasad's party RJD to contest the bypoll, is the son of Taslimuddin.

Araria Agriculture Production Market Committee has been made the polling station for Araria Lok Sabha seat. The party is now leading in both the constituencies.

In the Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies, where by-polls were also held, the voter turnout was 54.03% and 50.06% respectively.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), which was the incumbent ruling party in Jehanabad and Araria, is leading in the bypolls as per the early trends.

BJP combine and the opposition RJD-Congress alliance were locked in a battle on the three seats.

JD-U president and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar had walked out of NDA after Narendra Modi's prime ministerial candidature was confirmed in the run up to 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Dynamic security arrangements have been made for counting of votes. The bye-election results to the Araria Lok Sabha constituency will be declared today. Counting of votes for Jehanabad bypoll result 2018 will begin at 8:00 am.

The Lalu Prasad Yadav-led RJD was on the defending turf in two of the three constituencies.

This is the first electoral battle in the state since Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who also heads the JD (U), walked out of the alliance with the RJD and the Congress and joined the BJP-led NDA previous year. The latter had fielded Abhiram Sharma to take on RJD's Sujay Yadav, son of deceased MLA from the seat Mundrika Singh Yadav.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.