BJP gains in Bihar, leads in Gorakhpur seat of UP

Team 101 Reporters           08:11

Team 101 Reporters 08:11 Securit

Today's by-election is a prestige battle for the ruling party, which took on the combined might of regional heavyweights and arch-rivals Samajwadi Party and Mayawati's BSP in an experiment seen to test a bigger alliance for the 2019 national election.

After all, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance government at the centre has such a big majority that a couple of seats would not result in a big shift in fortunes for the government.

In Gorakhpur seat in Uttar Pradesh, there was a voter turnout of 43% and in Phulpur, 37.4% of the electorate turned up to vote. Gorakhpur is a home of BJP and Yogi Adityanath Since 1989.

Gorakhpur has been a BJP seat for almost three decades but the SP and BJP joined hands this time hoping to spring a surprise. In Gorakhpur, the SP has fielded Praveen Kumar Nishad, the son of Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad, as its candidate.

The elections see a triangular contest between the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)-backed Samajwadi Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress which chose to fight the elections on its own. The constituency had fallen vacant past year following Yogi Adityanath's resignation as the Lok Sabha MP from this seat after he was made the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. The party has fielded his son Sujay Yadav against JD (U) candidate Abhiram Sharma. In the Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies in Bihar, where by-polls were also held, the voter turnout was 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent respectively, he said.

The bypolls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath and deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats following their election to the state legislative council.

Snags in the electronic voting machines (EVMs) were reported from some places.

After casting his vote, a beaming Adityanath told reporters that the "BJP continues to get a groundswell of public support since they are witnessing development, peace and prosperity under its government".

Phulpur Bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 9924 votes with 87,272 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 77,348 votes after eight round of counting. The Congress put up its own candidate.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.