Nandi Awards: The Samajika Nyayam

Nandi Awards: The Samajika Nyayam

Nandi Awards: The Samajika Nyayam

The Nandi State Film Awards in total hands out awards in 64 categories for films, theatre and television mediums. For those of you who don't know, Nandi Awards are presented to all Tollywood (Telugu) actors and films.

In 2016, Janatha Garage bagged 6 awards, including award for NTR as best actor (for both Janatha Garage and Nannaku Prematho).

Baahubali, which attracted worldwide attention, won over a dozen awards, including best director (Rajamouli), best villain (Rana), best supporting actor (Ramyakrishna), and best music director (Keeravani).

Reportedly the Nandi Awards announced by Andhra Pradesh Government have received flak yet again that Nandamuri Balakrishna influenced all the awards.

In 2015, Bahubali swept 15 awards leaving very little space for other films and individuals to win any other awards. While most of the awards were bagged by Telugu industry members, Malayalam superstar Mohanlal too won an award to his kitty. Janatha Garage, which released in 2016 as well, is the best popular feature film for the entertainment goal. Legend came second with six awards including best actor and director (Boyapati Srinu). Mohanlal and Jr NTR winning the awards is another big reason for the makers of Janatha Garage to be proud of. The award is known as a state award for honouring the best talents of Telugu cinema. On March 1, this year, the government had announced awards for 2012 and 2013. Tommy, Malli Malli Raani Roju and Sathamanam Bhavati won the award for the years 2014, 2015 and 2016 respectively. Manam movie, that won critical acclaim as well as box office collections was definitely a better choice for best feature film compared to Legend.

Legend has been chosen as the Best Film of 2014; Bahubali, of 2015; and Pelli Choopulu, of 2016.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.